inside the archives
Past Exhibits

The Roomsarchivesmuseumart galleryschools & kids

The Rooms Provincial Archives - Mandate

The Rooms Provincial Archives division is mandated, through the Rooms Act 2005, to preserve those records of the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador which are deemed to have enduring legal, fiscal, evidential or research value. The Provincial Archives also collects records from private sources which have enduring value to the history of the province.
 
Search Archival Collections Explore Digital Archival Exhibits Discover What's New

The Rooms Provincial Archives Displays

The International Grenfell Association Mission Trips to Scholarships (1914 – 2014)
June 14, 2014 – March 2015
Level 3, Outside Archives reference room

The Rooms Provincial Archives – home to the largest collection of The International Grenfell Association (IGA) material in Canada – will mark the 100th Anniversary of the incorporation of the IGA in 1914 with this exhibition. Sir Wilfred Grenfell, the founder of IGA, came to Newfoundland to attend to the needs of fishermen in northern Newfoundland and on the coast of Labrador. Grenfell – a physician and surgeon who ran his medical services from a base hospital in St. Anthony, Labrador, and on various ships that moved up and down the Labrador coast – also tended to other needs of people in the region.

Image credit: The Rooms Provincial Archives Division, IGA 2-37, Dr. Wilfred T. Grenfell dressing woman’s finger aboard medical vessel Strathcona [193-?: lantern slide : col.], International Grenfell Association photograph collection.


Pleasantville: From Recreation to Military Installation
June 23, 2014 – Ongoing
Level 2 Atrium

Pleasantville before the First World War, was the site of the St. John’s cricket grounds. With the declaration of war, Pleasantville quickly emerged as a tent city, the home of the storied “First 500”. It was here that the First Newfoundland Regiment recruits began preliminary military training during the months of September and October of 1914. This exhibition highlights some of the activities and training of the Blue Puttees up to their embarkation on the SS Florizel for overseas service.

Image credit: The Rooms Provincial Archives Division, E 36-47, Tents at the Royal Newfoundland Regiment training grounds, Pleasantville [between Sept. and Oct. 1914], Provincial Archives photograph collection.


Lighthouses of Newfoundland & Labrador
January 8, 2014 – Ongoing
Level 2 Vitrines

Since 1813, lighthouses have played a prominent role in the maritime history of Newfoundland & Labrador. Through images and drawings from the collections of The Rooms Provincial Archives Division this small exhibit pays homage to the beacons that dot the shorelines, providing a measure of safety and comfort to those making a living on the sea.

Image credit: The Rooms Provincial Archives Division, E 56-37, Bonavista lighthouse [ca. 1911], Provincial Archives photograph collection.


The Trail of the Caribou in Trench Maps
May 13, 2014 - Ongoing
Level 3, Inside Archives reference room

The Rooms Provincial Archives collection of trench warfare maps provide researchers with an opportunity to learn more about our long and rich military history and the important role Newfoundland troops played during the First World War.

Image Credit: The Rooms Provincial Archives Division, MG 9.53, Beaumont Edition 2.B 57o S.E. parts of 1 & 2 Ordnance Survey (map), 1916, Charles Sydney Frost fonds.


An Tine Beo: The Living Tradition
Ongoing
Level 3

Find out why so many people from Trepassey to Tilting describe themselves as Irish Newfoundlanders.

An Tine Beo: The Living Tradition Newfoundland - Ireland Archival Records - visit this new information station and search photos and finding aids allowing you to begin to uncover your own Irish roots.

A project of the governments of Newfoundland and Labrador and Ireland, with generous support from Tom and Susan Foran.


 
Essential Information for Planning your Visit...